Module 3.2: Models and Mentors in My Life

  • List the most important role models and mentors in your life. Then describe what their positive modeling and mentoring have meant to your development.

The models and mentors that have most influenced me (and continue to do so) are my parents, my thesis advisers, and my spiritual director. My father taught me discipline, hard work, perseverance, generosity, the importance of health, and the importance of prayer. My mother models positive thinking, trust in the Lord, selfless acts of service, kindness, open-mindedness and an independent mind. My thesis advisers showed me how to have a good mix of heart and mind, work/life balance, how to communicate effectively, and to trust in the goodness and capabilities of the people I encounter in life. My spiritual director is a very good mentor because he is calm and collected, gives great advice, insightful, and is very knowledgeable about the faith.

  • Describe which characteristics and behaviors you believe are the most important for you to model for your students.

I would like to model grit/perseverance, discipline, responsibility, cheerfulness, honesty, and a love for learning. These are the characteristics that I believe would build the character of a student and set him/her up for success in life.

  • Describe a systematic plan for bringing models and mentors into your students’ lives in one or more domain(s) you plan to teach, such as math, English, science, music, and so on.

I can bringing models and mentors into my students’ lives by having a series of activities designed for that purpose. First, when I teach a lesson (in science), I can talk about the scientist who discovered certain principles and highlight the character strengths that I would like the student to emulate. Then, we can watch a film about the life of a scientist (any scientist) so the students can observe behaviors in action. Later on in the semester, I can ask the students to interview the scientists in our college to help them learn from the behaviors of Filipino scientists. Based on the submitted interviews, I will choose one that I would like the students to emulate the most and invite the scientist to give an inspirational talk with a discussion after. Near the end of the semester, I can also ask the students to make independent research projects. They will need to find mentors for their projects, and doing research with their mentors will teach them invaluable lessons about being a good scientist.

  • Do you have someone in mind who might serve as an education mentor when you become a teacher? If so, describe the person.
  • What would your ideal education mentor be like?

The reason I talked about a science class in the college setting was because I taught biology at the university level since I graduated until just a few months ago. It is the setting I am most familiar with. However, I have made a career change and now work at a preschool. I have been observing classes and helping out, but I have not led a class yet. I am very new to this, and I do not know many preschool teachers yet. As such, I have not yet found an education mentor.

I do realize the importance of a mentor though, and would like to have one with the following characteristics. My ideal education mentor would have had years of experience in teaching and mentoring, and still in practice. She would be  approachable, available, open-minded, cheerful, kind, knowledgeable,  and creative. She would have a passion for teaching, would love teaching, and would be a lifelong learner.

Would you happen to know anyone? 🙂

Note: This blog post is a based on a survey found at http://www.mhhe.com/socscience/education/edpsych/santrocked02/ch07a_sa.html.

Leave a Reply

