Module 2: Intelligence and Learning Styles in Teaching and Learning

  • On account of what you have learned from this module, in what specific ways will you modify how you learn and how you (will) teach?

I have learned about intelligence and learning styles in this module. I realized just how elusive a definition of intelligence is. I may have come up with my own opinion, but that is based on my own personal concept (albeit informed) of what it means to be an intelligent person. I recognize that each of my students also have their own ideas of intelligence, and that they may believe that they are (or not) intelligent based on their personal ideas. Thus, it would be my job to help them discover their respective intelligences. In the preschool where I work, Gardner’s multiple intelligences are posted on a large tarpaulin by the entrance. The images accompanying each intelligence type are photos of the students demonstrating these intelligence types. I was impressed when I saw it on my first day of work, and I believe it helps the students understand that everyone is unique and has something to offer. The challenge then is for me to be able to encourage each child in his/her own learning style. There has to be a wide range of activities for students representative of the learning styles. This is especially important at the preschool level, as the students still have a long way to go in developing their cognitive abilities.

When I took the learning style surveys, I scored highest on solitary learning, followed by physical and visual. In the VARK (visual/aural/read write/kinesthetic) survey, I was a strong K (kinesthetic). The surveys tell me that I learn best when I’m alone, preferably with movement or seeing actual structures (or representations of these structures). I am a “touch and see” kind of person. I think this makes sense because I am a scientist. I work with empirical evidence. For my work, reason is not enough, because there are too many unknown variables that can affect results. There has to be evidence. Scientists also need time alone to sit, think and write. This is my training, and I guess it showed in my learning style. Now that I know my learning styles, I will use them to learn better. I will look for peace and quiet when doing the modules so I can concentrate. I will also make sure my physical surroundings are orderly so I will not be distracted by clutter. I will use diagrams and/or do something physical (e.g. take a walk, build something with lego) when I have difficulty understanding a concept.

To find out your own learning style, take the surveys here:

http://www.learning-styles-online.com/

http://vark-learn.com/

Leave a Reply

